Volkswagen won the World Rally Championship

June 4, 2015 at 1:10 pm

Volkswagen factory team riders brought the brand second title in a row, winning Rally Australia crushing victory over rivals.
This year, Volkswagen rally team for the second time in a row won the world rally championship in the team standings. To win the title early, in three stages before the end of the season, riders on the car Volkswagen were able to take three steps on the podium in Australia Rally: Sebastien Ogier won the race, Jari-Matti Latvala finished second and the third position was taken by Andreas Mikkelsen, who plays for the second team Volkswagen. In the history of the World Cup three pilots on the car VW Polo R WRC for the first time finished in the first three places.

Volkswagen at World Rally Championship picture

Volkswagen at World Rally Championship pics

The best pilots of the other teams began Citroen driver Kris Meeke. The Irish lost to the winner 1 minute and 44 seconds at the finish. The first “top ten” also hit Haydon Paddon, Thierry Neuville and Chris Atkinson at Hyundai, Mikko Hirvonen Elfin Evans and Robert Kubica at Ford.

Volkswagen at World Rally Championship pics

Volkswagen at World Rally Championship image

For Volkswagen victory in Australia was the ninth of ten possible. In addition to the German team to win a race this year, managed only Hyundai – it happened at the last stage in Germany, where Ogier and Latvala out of the race due to accidents.

categoryCategories: Competitors Models